UA Named Top Producer of Fulbright U.S. Scholars


The University of Arizona is proud to be included on the list of U.S. colleges and universities that produced the most 2018-2019 Fulbright U.S. Scholars. Each year, the U.S. Department of State’s Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs announces the top-producing institutions for the Fulbright Program, the U.S. government's flagship international educational exchange program. The Chronicle of Higher Education publishes the lists annually.

Eight scholars from the UA were awarded Fulbright awards for 2018-2019:

  • Judith Becerra, Associate Research Scientist, Biosphere 2, Fulbright U.S. Scholar to Mexico, Biology
  • Heidi Brown, Assistant Professor, Department of Epidemiology & Biostatistics, Fulbright U.S. Scholar to Brazil, Public Health
  • Robert Fleischman, Professor, Department of Civil Engineering, Fulbright U.S. Scholar to Italy, Engineering
  • Rachel Gallery, Associate Professor, School of Natural Resources & the Environment, Fulbright U.S. Scholar to Colombia, Ecology
  • Lisa Molomot, Adjunct Professor, School of Theatre, Film & Television, Fulbright U.S. Scholar to Canada, Film Production 
  • Johann Rafelski, Professor, Department of Physics, Fulbright U.S. Scholar to Hungary, Physics
  • Johanna Skibsrud, Assistant Professor, Department of English, Fulbright U.S. Scholar to France, Literature
  • D. Lawrence Venable, Professor, Department of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology, Fulbright U.S. Scholar to Mexico, Ecology

“We thank the colleges and universities across the United States that we are recognizing as Fulbright top-producing institutions for their role in increasing mutual understanding between the people of the United States and the people of other countries,” said Marie Royce, Assistant Secretary of State for Educational and Cultural Affairs. “We are proud of all the Fulbright students and scholars from these institutions who represent America abroad, increasing and sharing their skills and knowledge on a global stage.”

Since its inception in 1946, the Fulbright Program has provided more than 390,000 participants – chosen for their academic merit and leadership potential – with the opportunity to exchange ideas and contribute to finding solutions to shared international concerns. Over 800 U.S. college and university faculty and administrators, professionals, artists, journalists, scientists, lawyers, and independent scholars are awarded Fulbright grants to teach and/or conduct research annually. The Fulbright U.S. Scholar Program operates in more than 125 countries throughout the world.  

The Fulbright U.S. Scholar Program is a program of the U.S. Department of State, funded by an annual appropriation from the U.S. Congress to the Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, and supported in its implementation by the Institute of International Education.

The Fulbright Program also awards grants to U.S. students and teachers to conduct research and teach overseas. In addition, some 4,000 foreign Fulbright students and scholars come to the United States annually to study, lecture, conduct research and teach foreign languages.

For more information about the Fulbright Program, visit Those at the UA interested in the Fulbright U.S. Scholar Program should contact Dale LaFleur, Senior Director of International Partnerships and Fulbright Scholar Liaison: Those interested in the Fulbright U.S. Student Program should contact the Office of Nationally Competitive Scholarships at the UA Honors College at