Travel & Immigration Updates

Page last updated: Tuesday, August 14, 2018 1:45 pm MST

Dear Members of the UA Community:

This page will address questions and concerns regarding immigration and travel following the Executive Order (EO) issued Friday, January 27, 2017, and EOs issued in the subsequent months. 

Given the Supreme Court decision, we strongly recommend that individuals from Iran, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, Venezuela and Yemen seek immigration advice before departing the US.

Current UA students (or those on OPT) should contact ISS before traveling.  International faculty and scholars should contact IFS.  Prospective students and scholars should contact their regional U.S. Embassy or Consulate for information about visa processing.

We will continue to update this page as new information becomes available. If you have any questions, please feel free to contact us at

Travel Ban Update:

On June 26, 2018 the US Supreme Court upheld the travel ban proclamation of September 24, 2017. As a response, UA Global has shared updates and recommendations with those visiting scholars and students from the countries impacted by the ruling. One resource for more information, and a country-by-country breakdown of the policy is this page from NAFSA: Association of International Educators

On September 24, 2017 President Trump issued a Presidential Proclamation, “Enhancing Vetting Capabilities and Processes for Detecting Attempted Entry into the United States by Terrorists or other Public-Safety Threats” restricting entry into the United States for nationals of eight countries. Nationals of Chad, Iran, Libya, North Korea, Syria, Venezuela, Yemen and Somalia will generally not be eligible for a visa unless they are exempted, excepted or granted a waiver. Country specific restrictions are available at Department of State, Department of Homeland Security, and the White House.

Effective dates are as follows:

The September 24, 2017 effective date applies to nationals of Iran, Libya, Syria, Yemen, and Somalia who were subject to the 90-day entry ban of Executive Order 13780 who "lack credible claim of a bona fide relationship with a person or entity in the United States."

The October 18, 2017 effective date applies to all nationals of Chad, North Korea, and Venezuela, and to nationals of Iran, Libya, Syria, Yemen, and Somalia "who have a credible claim of a bona fide relationship with a person or entity in the United States."

The Office of Global Initiatives will continue to monitor and provide updates on this situation.

Previous Updates:

On June 26, 2017, the US Supreme Court issued a ruling allowing the ban to go into effect for foreign nationals who lack any "bona fide relationship with any person or entity in the United States." The official statement from the University of Arizona on this matter is as follows:

“We’re encouraged by today’s Supreme Court ruling that recognizes universities have a bona fide relationship with admitted students, employees and invited lecturers from the affected countries. We will continue to monitor the case and await a final decision.”

-- Dana Bleau, University of Arizona’s Executive Director for International Faculty and Scholars

On March 15, 2017, a ruling by a federal judge in Hawaii resulted in a temporary restraining order nationwide on the new EO which was to go into effect on Thursday, March 16.

On March 6, 2017, President Trump signed a new Executive Order. This order will be phased in over the next two weeks. Citizens of Iran, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, Yemen and Libya will face a 90-day suspension of visa processing. All refugees (including those from Syria) will see a 120 day suspension of entry. The new EO will have no impact on those who have previously been issued visas or permanent residents.

On February 9, 2017, the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals denied the federal government’s motion for an emergency stay, which would have reinstituted enforcement of the travel ban.  Therefore, the Ninth Circuit upheld the lower court’s temporary restraining order.

On February 3, 2017, the US District Court for the Western District of Washington issued a temporary restraining order prohibiting the US government from enforcing the travel ban.

On January 27, 2017, President Trump signed the EO implementing a travel ban affecting seven countries (Iran, Iraq, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, and Yemen).


Department of Homeland Security Frequently Asked Questions
Travel Advisory for Nationals of Certain Countries Pursuant to Executive Orders