For questions and to access the most up-to-date information, always check the Arizona MVD website or call (520) 629-9808.
You may legally drive in Arizona using a valid driver license from another country. An international driving license or permit is not required, but is recommended since it can be printed in English, and can be used in conjunction with the driver license from the other country. If an international driving license or permit is used alone, it must be issued by a country other than the United States.
Out-of-state students enrolled with 7 or more semester hours, are not considered Arizona residents, regardless of employment, and are not required to obtain a driver license.
You are required to obtain an Arizona driver's license if you:
Place children in school without paying the tuition rate of a nonresident
Pay school tuition fees at the same rate as an Arizona resident
Hours and Locations
Arizona Motor Vehicle Department (MVD) locations that process driver license applications:
Open Monday-Friday 8:00-5:00. You must arrive before 3:00 pm to take the road test. The MVD recommends Wednesdays and Thursdays for faster service. You should also avoid the first and last two days of the month and the day following office closure.
You must bring a vehicle registered in the state of Arizona to complete the driving portion of the exam, so it’s best to wait until you have a car (or you may use a friend’s vehicle) before applying for a driver license. However, if you would like to go to the MVD sooner to obtain a state license, then you can find bus routes on the Sun Tran website. From the UA campus it takes approximately 1 hour by bus, and you will have to make at least one transfer. The cost of the bus is $1.50 each way or $3.50 for a day pass (unlimited).
DS-2019 or I-20 (the MVD will use the expiration date to calculate the duration of your license)
You can complete and submit the initial application online (or download a paper version).
You will be required to pass a written test and a road test. Once you pay the application fee, you will have three chances to pass the written and road test within 12 months. After that, you will be required to pay the application fee again.
Consists of 30 multiple-choice questions. You’ll take the test at a computer work station using a touch screen.
The Arizona Driver License Manual and practice tests are available on the MVD website.
The test administrator will drive with you through a test route, giving you directions to follow. The driving exam will test your knowledge of traffic laws in a variety of different situations and your ability to safely operate the vehicle.
You must provide the vehicle used for the test. The vehicle must be in good operating condition (including seat belts), and must have current ARIZONA registration, plate and tab. You will be required to show proof of current automobile liability insurance.
For driver’s license, costs vary from $10 to $25 dollars, depending on age.
For Arizona State Identification Card (ID):
Ages 0-64 – $12.00
65 & over – No fee